Georgia is a wonderful place to live but has extremely conservative drug control laws. For example, possessing an ounce or less of marijuana is the only drug offense charged as a misdemeanor.
Since drug laws, particularly those involving cannabis, are changing in America, recreational users need to understand them. Below are details on select drug laws in Georgia so you can stay informed of your legal risks.
When does marijuana result in felony charges?
As mentioned, you must possess one ounce or less of cannabis to escape felony charges. If caught with more than an ounce, you could face up to a year of incarceration and fines approaching $10,000.
Possessing any amount of marijuana within 1,000 feet of certain areas like school zones, housing projects or public parks could lead to at least five years in prison and fines of up to $40,000.
If the authorities believe you meant to sell or distribute cannabis, you could end up spending decades behind bars and tasked with paying hundreds of thousands in fines.
What about hard drugs?
As you might expect, the possession or distribution of schedule II drugs like cocaine and methamphetamine are also treated severely in the Peach State.
For example, possessing even a small amount of cocaine is a felony punishable by two to 30 years in prison and a hefty fine. If the police catch you with more than one ounce of cocaine, you could face drug trafficking charges and severe consequences if convicted.
Contrary to common belief, there are ways to avoid the most unfavorable outcome in a drug possession or distribution case. If facing drug charges, legal guidance can help protect your rights and could lead to an effective defense.